Skip to main content

Announcing the “We’re Linux” video contest finalists

By 2009-04-068月 22nd, 2017Blog
Article Source Amanda McPherson’s Blog
April 6, 2009, 4:27 pm

The journey that begin during last football season with the realization that Microsoft paid Jerry Seinfeld $10 million for his appearance in their ads is almost over. The judging for the We’re Linux video contest has been completed and I’m pleased to announce the finalists.

These videos reflect the best of what was truly a global community effort with videos being submitted from Asia, Europe, North America, the Middle East and South America.

The response exceeded all of our expectations: frankly I was worried we’d get 20 entries, but we ended up getting over 90. We would like to thank all of the community members who took the time to submit videos. Many were smart, many were funny, all were creative.

We would also like to thank the judges, who had the difficult task of selecting the best video out of so many fantastic submissions: Matt Asay, CNET blogger and executive at Alfresco, Inc.; Larry Augustin, venture capitalist and former chairman of VA Software, and Linux Foundation board member; Jono Bacon, Ubuntu community manager; Joe Brockmeier, openSUSE community manager; Melinda Mettler, director, School of Advertising at the Academy of Art University; and Tim O’Reilly, founder and CEO, O’Reilly Media, Inc. They were luckily helped by community voting, who helped narrow down the finalists for them.

The winning video and two runners up will be announced on April 8, 2009, at the annual Linux Foundation Collaboration Summit in San Francisco.

The winner of the “We’re Linux” contest will receive a free trip to Tokyo, Japan to participate in the Linux Foundation Japan Linux Symposium, which will be co-located with the Linux Kernel Summit, in October 2009.

The five finalists are:

The Future is Open

The Origin…

Linux AD – What does it mean to be free?

Challenges At The Office

Linux pub (one video without subtitles, one with)

Keep an eye out on our site and on Twitter for the final winner to be announced Wednesday evening Pacific time.

The Linux Foundation
Follow Us