Skip to main content

New Linux Foundation Board Members Elected

By 2008-03-048月 22nd, 2017Press Release

New Linux Foundation Board Members Elected

LF Board of Directors represents community, business and individual interests

SAN FRANCISCO, March 4, 2008 – The Linux Foundation (LF), the nonprofit organization dedicated to accelerating the growth of Linux, today announced the results of its annual Board of Directors election. The LF board is comprised of all LF membership classes as well as individual affiliates.

New board members elected during this cycle include Linux and open-source expert Larry Augustin, Advanced Micro Device’s Chris Schlaeger and Texas Instrument’s Eric Thomas. Mark Shuttleworth, founder of Ubuntu, has been re-elected as an individual member to the board. James Bottomley was also re-elected as the Technical Advisory Board’s (TAB) representative to the board. The TAB is a collection of community developers and provides the Linux kernel community a direct voice into The Linux Foundation’s activities.

“The Linux Foundation board represents all Linux stakeholders – kernel developers, individual community members, vendors and users. We’re very pleased that our board continues to comprise such distinguished contributors to the Linux platform,” said Jim Zemlin, executive director of The Linux Foundation.

Augustin is an angel investor and advisor to early stage technology companies. In 1993 he founded VA Linux (now SourceForge, NASDAQ:LNUX), where he served as CEO until August 2002.

Bottomley is an active member of the Linux kernel and open source communities. He maintains the SCSI subsystem, the MCA subsystem, and the Linux Voyager port and the 53c700 driver.

Schlaeger is Director of the Operating System Research Center at AMD. Prior to AMD he worked as VP of Engineering for Novell and SUSE.

Elected as an individual representative to the LF board for the second year in a row, Shuttleworth is founder of the Ubuntu Project, a popular Debian-based Linux distribution with both desktop and enterprise server editions.

Thomas has fifteen years of experience contributing to mobile handset design and has been one of the key advocates driving the definition of Texas Instrument’s software strategy to enable Linux-based handset manufacturers to further differentiate their offerings.

LF board members serving under their current term include:
• Alan Clark, Novell
• Wim Coekaerts, Oracle
• Masahiro Date, Fujitsu
• Frank Fanzilli
• Doug Fisher, Intel
• Dan Frye, IBM
• Hisashi Hashimoto, Hitachi
• Christine Martino, HP
• Brian Pawlowski, NetApp
• Tsugikazu Shibata, NEC
• Christy Wyatt, Motorola

About the Linux Foundation
The Linux Foundation is a nonprofit consortium dedicated to fostering the growth of Linux. Founded in 2007, the Linux Foundation sponsors the work of Linux creator Linus Torvalds and is supported by leading Linux and open source companies and developers from around the world. The Linux Foundation promotes, protects and standardizes Linux by providing unified resources and services needed for open source to successfully compete with closed platforms. For more information, please visit


Trademarks: The Linux Foundation and Linux Standard Base are trademarks of The Linux Foundation. Linux is a trademark of Linus Torvalds. Third party marks and brands are the property of their respective holders.

The Linux Foundation
Follow Us